Cycling: Evolution of world hour record

Click to follow
The Independent Online
October 1972 (Mexico City): Eddy Merckx (Bel) 49.431km

January 1984 (Mexico City): Francesco Moser (It) 50.808km

January 1984 (Mexico City): Moser 51.151km

July 1993 (Hamar): Graeme Obree (GB) 51.596km

July 1993 (Bordeaux): Chris Boardman (GB) 52.270km

April 1994 (Bordeaux): Obree 52.713km

September 1994 (Bordeaux): Miguel Indurain (Sp) 53.040km

October 1994 (Bordeaux): Tony Rominger (Swit) 53.832km

October 1994 (Bordeaux): Rominger 55.291km

September 1996 (Manchester): Boardman 56.375km