Cycling Frank Vanderbrouke wins the Laigueglia Trophy

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Frank Vanderbrouke, of Belgium, outsprinted three riders yesterday to win the Laigueglia Trophy, the opening race of the Italian cycling season. Vanderbrouke, 21, finished the 154-kilometre (95- mile) course through the Italian Riviera in 3 hours, 47 minutes and 30 seconds, averaging 40.7kph (35mph). The Italians Rodolfo Massi, Michele Coppolillo and Gabriele Colombo were credited with the same time as Vanderbrouke, but finished second, third and fourth, respectively.