FOOTBALL: Final thrust from Fielder



reports from Wembley

Kidderminster Harriers 1

Woking 2

(aet: score at 90min 1-1)

Just when a replay seemed inevitable, up popped Woking's outstanding player, Colin Fielder, to decide the FA Trophy final with a winner three minutes from the end of extra time.

The Surrey side yesterday become only the second in the tournament's history, after Scarborough, to retain the Trophy. They had taken the lead with an outstanding first-minute goal, only to see Kidderminster draw level in the 46th minute.

Woking won a corner inside 30 seconds, from which the ball was cleared as far as Scott Steele, wide on the left. The former Airdrie forward drifted inside, accelerated past two defenders and struck a curling shot past Kevin Rose from 20 yards.

That set the scene for a splendid first half, with both sides throwing men forward. Harriers' most threatening weapon was the aerial dominance of their centre-half, Chris Brindley, at set pieces while, for Woking, the wily Clive Walker - the 37-year-old former Chelsea forward - was always dangerous.

Kidderminster's veteran striker Paul Davies had a headed "goal" disallowed for offside, but they should have equalised five minutes before the interval, when Delwyn Humphreys, clean through, fell over the ball with only Laurence Batty to beat. However, soon after the break a misguided header by the otherwise impeccable Fielder allowed Humphreys and Mark Yates to set up Davies for a tap-in.

Fielder came closest to a winner in normal time when his 25-yard free- kick was tipped over by Rose with 11 minutes to go. His moment of glory arrived deep into the extra period, though, to provide Woking with a winner that neither side truly deserved. Shane Wye's right-wing corner was headed back from beyond the far post by Mark Tucker, and Fielder's forehead, from five yards' range, did the rest.

Kidderminster Harriers (4-4-2): Rose; Hodson, Brindley (Cartwright, 93), Webb, Bancroft; Forsyth, Deakin, Yates, Purdie; Humphreys (Hughes, 106), Davies. Substitute not used: Dearlove (gk).

Woking (3-4-1-2): Batty; K Brown, Fielder, Tucker; Crumplin (Rattray, h-t), S Wye, Ellis, L Wye; Steele; Walker, Hay (Newbery, 111). Substitute not used: Read (gk).

Referee: D Gallagher (Banbury).

Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Caption competition
Caption competition
  • Get to the point
Latest stories from i100
Daily Quiz
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

Career Services
iJobs Job Widget
iJobs General

Recruitment Genius: Senior Digital Marketing Consultant

£28000 - £45000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: A Senior Digital Marketing Cons...

Recruitment Genius: Assistant Stores Keeper

£16640 - £18500 per annum: Recruitment Genius: An Assistant Stores Keeper is r...

Recruitment Genius: Claims Administrator

£16000 - £18500 per annum: Recruitment Genius: This is an excellent opportunit...

Recruitment Genius: Software Developer - C# / ASP.NET / SQL

£17000 - £30000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: Developer required to join a bu...

Day In a Page

Fishing for votes with Nigel Farage: The Ukip leader shows how he can work an audience as he casts his line to the disaffected of Grimsby

Fishing is on Nigel Farage's mind

Ukip leader casts a line to the disaffected
Who is bombing whom in the Middle East? It's amazing they don't all hit each other

Who is bombing whom in the Middle East?

Robert Fisk untangles the countries and factions
China's influence on fashion: At the top of the game both creatively and commercially

China's influence on fashion

At the top of the game both creatively and commercially
Lord O’Donnell: Former cabinet secretary on the election and life away from the levers of power

The man known as GOD has a reputation for getting the job done

Lord O'Donnell's three principles of rule
Rainbow shades: It's all bright on the night

Rainbow shades

It's all bright on the night
'It was first time I had ever tasted chocolate. I kept a piece, and when Amsterdam was liberated, I gave it to the first Allied soldier I saw'

Bread from heaven

Dutch survivors thank RAF for World War II drop that saved millions
Britain will be 'run for the wealthy and powerful' if Tories retain power - Labour

How 'the Axe' helped Labour

UK will be 'run for the wealthy and powerful' if Tories retain power
Rare and exclusive video shows the horrific price paid by activists for challenging the rule of jihadist extremists in Syria

The price to be paid for challenging the rule of extremists

A revolution now 'consuming its own children'
Welcome to the world of Megagames

Welcome to the world of Megagames

300 players take part in Watch the Skies! board game in London
'Nymphomaniac' actress reveals what it was really like to star in one of the most explicit films ever

Charlotte Gainsbourg on 'Nymphomaniac'

Starring in one of the most explicit films ever
Robert Fisk in Abu Dhabi: The Emirates' out-of-sight migrant workers helping to build the dream projects of its rulers

Robert Fisk in Abu Dhabi

The Emirates' out-of-sight migrant workers helping to build the dream projects of its rulers
Vince Cable interview: Charging fees for employment tribunals was 'a very bad move'

Vince Cable exclusive interview

Charging fees for employment tribunals was 'a very bad move'
Iwan Rheon interview: Game of Thrones star returns to his Welsh roots to record debut album

Iwan Rheon is returning to his Welsh roots

Rheon is best known for his role as the Bastard of Bolton. It's gruelling playing a sadistic torturer, he tells Craig McLean, but it hasn't stopped him recording an album of Welsh psychedelia
Morne Hardenberg interview: Cameraman for BBC's upcoming show Shark on filming the ocean's most dangerous predator

It's time for my close-up

Meet the man who films great whites for a living
Increasing numbers of homeless people in America keep their mobile phones on the streets

Homeless people keep mobile phones

A homeless person with a smartphone is a common sight in the US. And that's creating a network where the 'hobo' community can share information - and fight stigma - like never before