Football / Non-League Notebook: Wright words rile Rhyl

Click to follow
The Independent Online
AFTER SPENDING the season playing against the likes of Cefn Druids, Carno and Rhayader, Rhyl will step out in front of an anticipated crowd of around 25,000 at the Arms Park on Sunday determined to spoil Cardiff City's European dream.

The north Wales club contest a place in next term's Cup-Winners' Cup with the Third Division champions in the final of the Allbright Welsh Cup, after finishing third in the Manweb Cymru Alliance - the local league they found themselves in when they left the HFS Loans League last year.

After originally refusing to join the Konica League of Wales, Rhyl chose not to follow Colwyn Bay and Caernarfon into exile in England. Their change of heart came too late for the League of Wales, however, so they have had to struggle on at a lower level.

Despite their humble status, Rhyl feel that they can surprise Cardiff. 'They're on a high, and they've got resources we can only dream of, but we're going to make a game of it,' John Daley, the press officer for Rhyl, declared.

Rick Wright, Cardiff's wealthy owner, has been talking of his club's plans 'after we win the Welsh Cup' - an attitude which has increased Rhyl's desire for giant-killing glory. 'We feel we can prove him wrong,' Daley said. One Rhyl player with a point to prove is their striker, Paul Marriott, who returned to his home-town club after being released by Cardiff last summer.

PRESS AND JOURNAL HIGHLAND LEAGUE SQUAD (v Football Association XI, Borough Briggs, Elgin, tomorrow): Hinchcliffe (Elgin), Pirie (Lossiemouth); Baxter, Megginson, Moreland, Whyte (all Cove Rangers), Wilson, Bellshaw, Somerville (all Ross County), Bremner, Farquhar (both Brora), Thomson, Stewart (both Huntly), McPherson (Buckie), Christie (Caledonian), Gibson (Keith), King (Peterhead), M Teasdale (Elgin).

1992/93 CHAMPIONS: GM Vauxhall Conference: Wycombe Wanderers. HFS Loans Premier: Southport. First: Bridlington. Beazer Premier: Dover. Midland: Nuneaton. Southern: Sittingbourne. Diadora Premier: Chesham. First: Hitchin. Second: Worthing. Third: Aldershot Town. Northern: Whitby. Bass North West Counties: Atherton Laburnum Rovers. Northern Counties East: Spennymoor. Boddingtons West Midlands: Oldbury. Campri South Midlands: Oxford City. Hereward United Counties: Rothwell. Jewson Eastern: Wroxham. Great Mills: Clevedon.