Football: The XI

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Phil King or Andy Linighan to get the winner anyone? Here are 11 Cup finalists who once scored at Wembley in May but scarcely troubled the headline writers again:

Bobby Stokes (Southampton, 1976)

Roger Osborne (Ipswich Town, 1978)

Steve Mackenzie (Man City, 1981)

Gordon Smith (Brighton, 1983)

Gary Stevens (Brighton, 1983)

Brian Kilcline (og, Coventry City, 1987)

Dave Bennett (Coventry City, 1987)

Keith Houchen (Coventry City, 1987)

Lawrie Sanchez (Wimbledon, 1988)

Gary O'Reilly (Crystal Palace, 1990)

Lee Martin (Manchester United, 1990)