Ballon d'Or 2015 - as it happened: Lionel Messi beats Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar to claim fifth award

Follow all the latest from Fifa's annual award ceremony. Who will be voted the best player of 2015?

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Welcome to The Independent's live coverage of this year's Ballon d'Or ceremony in Zurich.

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar are the three nominated for this year's award, with many expecting the little Argentinian to win for the fifth time.

The Barcelona forward, alongside Neymar and Luis Suarez, formed the brilliant attacking triumvirate that propelled his side to the La Liga title, the Copa del Rey and the Champions League. 

Ronaldo, winner of the award in each of the last two years, has only an outside chance of picking up the fourth Ballon d’Or of his career, while this is the first time that Neymar has been nominated.

Other awards, including the Men’s World Coach, Fifa Fifpro World XI and the Puskas Award for the best goal will also be handed out.

England women’s coach Mark Sampson is nominated for the Women’s World Coach award.

The ceremony is due to start at 5.30pm GMT.

Follow all the latest with our live blog below…


Please allow a moment for the live blog to load.

Previous Fifa Ballon d'Or award winners:

2000 - Luis Figo

2001 - Michael Owen

2002 - Ronaldo

2003 - Pavel Nedved

2004 - Andriy Shevchenko

2005 - Ronaldinho

2006 - Fabio Cannavaro

2007 - Kaka

2008 - Cristiano Ronaldo

2009 - Lionel Messi

2010 - Lionel Messi

2011 - Lionel Messi

2012 - Lionel Messi

2013 - Cristiano Ronaldo

2014 - Cristiano Ronaldo