David Moyes to succeed Sir Alex Ferguson: A closer look at the Everton manager

The 50-year-old has never won a major honour during his management career

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Manchester United hope to appoint the Everton manager David Moyes as Sir Alex Ferguson's successor by the end of the week, The Independent has learned.

Here, we take a closer look at Sir Alex's fellow Glaswegian...

At Everton...

Moyes has been the manager of Everton since 2002, during which time he has been named the LMA Manager of the Year three times - 2003, 2005 and 2009.

However, the Glaswegian has never won a trophy with the Toffees, a fact which is likely to be highlighted over the coming days as he's named successor to a man who won 49. The closest Everton have come to silverware during Moyes' time in charge was an appearance in the 2009 FA Cup final, in which they beat Manchester United on penalties in the semi-final before defeat to Chelsea.

Despite the lack of a trophy during his time at Goodison Park, Moyes has been lauded for his management of a team which has punched consistently above its weight considering the financial restrictions at the club. Everton are guaranteed to finish at least seventh this season, which will be eighth time the club have finished in that position or higher in Moyes' 11 full seasons in charge. In the 2004/05 campaign, the Toffees clinched a fourth place finish and qualified for the Champions League.

Before Everton...

Moyes' only other management position was at Preston North End. Taking charge in 1997, within three years, he had led them to champions of what is now League One. In his single season in the equivalent of the Championship before being poached by Everton, he led the club into the play-offs before they lost out to Bolton Wanderers in the final.

Playing career...

Moyes played as a centre-half at a number of different clubs which included Celtic, Cambridge, Bristol City, Shrewsbury Town, Dunfermline Athletic, Hamilton Academical and Preston - which was Moyes' last club before he entered coaching. His honours include the 1981/82 league title with Celtic and the Third Division title with Preston in 1995/96.

Further reading
United hope to appoint Moyes by end of the week
Sam Wallace: What next for United after Ferguson?
His best XI during his reign
His 13 titles remembered
Season-by-season guide
Players pay tribute
Ferguson’s statement in full