Gareth Bale and Samir Nasri lead PFA Player of the Year nominations

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Tottenham’s Gareth Bale and Arsenal’s Samir Nasri have reportedly been nominated for both the PFA Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards.

The midfielders are joined by Blackpool’s Charlie Adam, Manchester United’s Nemanja Vidic, West Ham’s Scott Parker and Manchester City’s Carlos Tevez on the senior shortlist.

Surprise omissions from the list include Tottenham’s Rafael Van der Vaart – who has scored 10 league goals since his £8m move from Real Madrid last summer – and Manchester United winger Nani.

The Portuguese international has scored nine goals this season – the same as Nasri and Adam – but has only been nominated on the junior award with Arsenal’s Jack Wilshere, Manchester City’s Joe Hart and Everton’s Seamus Coleman completing the list.

Bale and Nasri could join former Manchester United midfielder Cristiano Ronaldo (2006/07) and Andy Gray (1976/77) as the only players to win both awards in the same year.

Vidic meanwhile will be looking to make it five in a row for Manchester United who have provided the last four winners of the Player of the Year award – Ronaldo (06/07 and 07/08), Ryan Giggs (08/09) and Wayne Rooney 12 months ago.

The winners along with the Team of the Year will be announced at a gala dinner on Sunday, April 17.

Player of the Year nominations

Charlie Adam (Blackpool)

Gareth Bale (Tottenham)

Scott Parker (West Ham)

Samir Nasri (Arsenal)

Carlos Tevez (Man City)

Nemanja Vidic (Man Utd)

Young Player of the Year nominations

Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Joe Hart (Manchester City)

Samir Nasri (Arsenal)

Seamus Coleman (Everton)

Gareth Bale (Tottenham)

Nani (Manchester United)