Leicester vs Manchester City team news: Vincent Kompany returns from injury as Yaya Toure and Frank Lampard start

Leicteser have captain Wes Morgan back but drop Leonardo Ulloa to the bench

Click to follow

Vincent Kompany returns from injury to lead Manchester City out at Leicester as the reigning champions look to close the gap on league leaders Chelsea.

Manuel Pellegrini makes five changes from the side that secured progression to the Champions League last-16 on Wednesday courtesy of the 2-0 win in Rome, with Kompany replacing Martin Demichelis at centre-back to partner Eliaquim Mangala.

Pablo Zabaleta is rested completely from the matchday squad so Bacary Sagna starts at right-back, with Yaya Toure returning to replace James Milner. Despite impressing alongside Fernando, Fernandinho is dropped to the bench as Frank Lampard is handed a rare Premier League start, and a fit-again David Silva replaces Jesus Navas to complete City’s star-studded attack.

*UPDATE* - Edin Dzeko was injured in the warm-up and replaced in the starting line-up by Jose Angel Pozo. Pablo Zabaleta is added to the substitutes bench.


Leicester are looking for a first victory in 11 games having not won since beating Manchester United 5-3 back in September. Nigel Pearson has had to deal with the loss of influential goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel to injury, so Ben Hamer steps up off the bench.

Yaya Toure missed the Roma victory through suspension

Paul Konchesky is available after being sent-off in last week’s 2-1 defeat to Aston Villa having had his red card overturned, and captain Wes Morgan is back from his own suspension to captain the side in defence – the centre-back replaces Liam Moore.

Leonardo Ulloa and Mathew James are dropped to the bench despite the former scoring against Villa, with Danny Drinkwater and Andy King coming into the side.


Leicester: Hamer, Simpson, Wasilewski, Morgan (c), Konchesky, Cambiasso, King, Drinkwater, Mahrez, Schlupp, Vardy

Subs: Smith, Hammond, James, Powell, Moore, Ulloa, Knockaert.

Manchester City: Hart, Sagna, Kompany (C), Mangala, Clichy, Toure, Fernando, Nasri, Lampard, Silva, Pozo

Subs: Caballero, Demichelis, Kolarov, Milner, Fernandinho, Navas.