Hockey: Leicester fall to hosts at the final hurdle

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Leicester's gallant attempt to become only the third English club to take european gold in the Women's European Cup-Winners' Cup final in Ourense failed when they were beaten 3-0 by Rotterdam.

Glasgow Western, with a 1-0 win over host side Ourense, took the bronze medal, and English hopes now rest with Reading in the men's competition here. Reading's progress to today's final against host club Oranje Zwart followed their 3-1 win against Rheydter SV05, the German Cup holders.

Ken Robinson, Mark Pearn and Andy Todd gave Reading a 3-0 lead at half-time, goalkeeper Simon Mason weighing in by crucially keeping out a German penalty corner before the interval.

Although Rheydter did manage to pull a goal back in the second half, their discipline let them down late on, and Reading held on to seal a comfortable victory.

EUROPEAN CUP-WINNERS' CUP (Eindhoven, Neth) Men's A Division: Pool A: Poctowiec (Pol) 4 Gordonians (Sco) 0; Oranje Zwart (Neth) 6 White Star (Bel) 0; Oranje Zwart (Neth) 5 Pocztowiec (Pol) 1; White Star (Bel) 0 Gordonians (Sco) 0. Pool B: Rheydter SV 05 (Ger) 10 Grasshopper Zurich (Swit) 1; Reading 3 Racing Club (Fr) 1; Grasshopper Zurich 3 Racing Club 1; Reading 3 Rheydter SV 05 1. (Gibraltar) B Division: Pool A: Atletic Terrassa (Sp) 7 Grammarians (Gib) 1. Pool B: Lazio 59 (It) Hostivar (Cz Rep) 1. (Cardiff) C Division: Pool A: Espinho (Por) 5 Slagelse (Den) 1; Stockholm (Swe) 1 Eglwis Wen (Wal) 14. Pool B: UCW Cardiff 7 Lason Keratsini (Gr) 0; ABC Team (Fin ) 0 Rosco (Hun) 4. Women's A Division (Ourense, Sp): Pool A: Lorenzoni (It) 1 Moscowskaya Pravda (Rus) 6; Rotterdam (Neth) 5 Ourense (Sp) 0. Pool B: Leicester 4 Ballymoney (Irl) 0; an der Alster (Ger) 0 Glasgow Western (Sco) 0. Final (Ourense): Leicester 0 Rotterdam (Neth) 3. 3/4th: Ourense (Sp) 0 Glasgow Western (Sco) 1. (Cardiff) B Division: Pool A: Dragons (Bel) 2 Cardiff Athletic (Wal) 3; Meteor Ceske Budejovice (Cz Rep) 14 HC Athina (Gr) 0. Pool B: Lille (Fr) 7 Grasshopper Zurich (Swit) 0; Siauliai (Lith) 4 Cenhenin Bedr (Wal) 0.