Holmes tops off year with Dame in Honours List

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Kelly Holmes's year has ended on a high with the double Olympic champion being made a Dame in the New Year Honours List. The rower Matthew Pinsent is knighted and Tanni Grey-Thompson, Britain's most successful Paralympian, is also made a Dame.

Pinsent's three team-mates in the coxless four that took Olympic gold in Athens have also been honoured, with an OBE for James Cracknell and MBEs for Ed Coode and Steve Williams.

Britain's Paralympic success is recognised with an OBE for Michael Brace, chairman of the British Paralympic Association. There are OBEs for yachtsman Ben Ainslie,yachtswoman Shirley Robertson and cyclist Bradley Wiggins. Britain's other Olympic champions from Athens all received MBEs.

Colin Montgomerie's role in Europe's Ryder Cup victory is recognised with an OBE. OBEs also go to Aston Villa's chairman Doug Ellis and the Great Britain rugby league captain Andy Farrell.

The veteran BBC sports commentator Barry Davies receives an MBE, as does the former Wales and British Lions centre Bleddyn Williams, 81.