Other Britons who have worn the coveted Yellow Jersey


Click to follow
The Independent Online

Bradley Wiggins has become the first British winner of the Tour de France in Paris today.

Here we look at the Britons who have worn the race leader's yellow jersey.

BRADLEY WIGGINS (2012, 13 days)

Finished second on the opening prologue and moved into the maillot jaune on stage seven in an imperious performance.

CHRIS BOARDMAN (1994, three days; 1997, one day; 1998, two days)

Won the Tour prologue on three occasions to enjoy spells in yellow.

DAVID MILLAR (2000, three days)

Like Boardman, Millar took the yellow jersey on his Tour debut after a prologue success.

SEAN YATES (1994, one day)

A short-lived spell in yellow came towards the end of his career.

TOM SIMPSON (1962, one day)

The first Briton to wear the maillot jaune.