Bradford 16 Hull 22: Sing hits high notes for Hull

Click to follow
The Independent Online

The superstitious believe that sometimes your name is written on the cup. Given that Hull are exceedingly fortunate to be still competing in this season's Carnegie Challenge Cup after they fielded an ineligible player in an earlier round, fans of the black and whites could be forgiven for thinking that a Wembley victory is written in the stars for 2008.

An awful first half in this quarter-final was turned into a penalty-fest, as referee Steve Ganson's whistle was given a workout. Iestyn Harris kicked three goals for Bradford and Danny Tickle two for Hull, as the official blew for 14 penalties in the opening 24 minutes. He also sent Bradford's Ben Jeffries and Hull's Lee Radford to the sin-bin.

It took the half's third yellow card, this time for Hull's Jamie Thackray, before the sparse Odsal crowd saw the game's first try. With the extra player, Bradford pressed Hull's line, but Harris' long pass was intercepted by Hull winger Matt Sing and the Australian ran in from 90 yards.

Just as both sides regained their full complement, Bradford's Dave Halley was penalised. With the man advantage, Richard Horne and Adam Dykes combined for Todd Byrne to score under the posts.

With their extra player for the first eight minutes of the second half, Hull seemed to have put the game to bed when Sing scored his second try to take his side 16 points clear.

Bradford's Tame Tupou gave home fans hope with a try in the 54th minute. At times a Bulls comeback seemed possible, especially when Terry Newton had a try disallowed for offside by the video referee, when replays suggested he was onside. Bradford camped on the visitors' line in the latter stages, but heroic defence prevailed until Paul Sykes' try with two minutes left. Yet Hull clung on.

Bradford: Platt; Halley, Sykes, Hape, Evans; Harris, Jeffries; Vagana, Newton, Lynch, Solomona, Langley, Burgess. Substitutes used: James, Finnigan, Cook, Tupou.

Hull: Byrne; Sing, Yeaman, Horne, Raynor; Washbrook, Dykes; Dowes, Berrigan, Carvell, Manu, Radford, Tickle. Substitutes used: Houghton, Wheeldon, Lee, Thackray.

Referee: S Ganson (St Helens).