Leeds 46 Huddersfield 8: McGuire back on form to help Leeds hammer Huddersfield

Click to follow
The Independent Online

With Leeds knocked off the top of the Super League table for the first time this season last week after three defeats in four games, there was an air of determination around Headingley last night. Inspired by their stand-off Danny McGuire, the home side responded with an impressive demolition of Huddersfield.

Brian McClennan's team sent out a message to St Helens, who have replaced them at the Super League summit, and the Giants were the unfortunate victims. McGuire, who ended a five game try-drought in last week's narrow defeat at Wigan, scored two well-taken tries.

Leeds had not lost to Huddersfield at Headingley since the 1959-60 season and McClennan was able to field his strongest side in several weeks. The centre Clinton Toopi returned after dislocating a shoulder and Kevin Sinfield was given the all-clear after a knee scare.

Huddersfield took the lead through Chris Thorman's penalty but they were soon trailing Leeds, even if there was an element of luck about Scott Donald's try, which, in the wet conditions, came after Brent Webb's offload ballooned off Shane Elford.

However, further scores from McGuire and Jamie Jones-Buchanan were classy passing moves. Huddersfield's cause was not helped when Leroy Cudjoe made a mess of dealing with Sinfield's high bomb three minutes into the second half, and McGuire was perfectly placed to accept the gift for his 14th try of the season.

Ryan Hall also touched down twice for Leeds, while Keith Senior barged through the tackles for a try against his hometown club. Sinfield contributed 14 points with seven goals from eight attempts before Huddersfield's sole try came through Martin Aspinwall, with Thorman kicking his second goal.

Leeds: Webb, Hall, Toopi, Senior, Donald, McGuire, Burrow, Leuluai, Diskin, Peacock, Jones-Buchanan, Ellis, Sinfield. Substitutes: Lauitiiti, Bailey, Burgess, Ablett.

Huddersfield: Cudjoe; Aspinwall, Elford, Whatuira, Jensen; Robinson, Thorman; Mason, Jones, Raleigh, Snitch, Wild, Brown. Substitutes: Jackson, Griffin, Hudson, Kirmond.

Referee: T Alibert (France).