US PGA 2015: When is it, what are the tee-times, where can I watch it and is Rory McIlroy fit?

A look ahead to the final major of the year

Click to follow

The final major of the year gets under way this Thursday with Rory McIlroy back in contention after missing The Open through injury. Here, we bring you all the vital information you need.

When is it?

The tournament begins on Thursday, 13 August, running through until Sunday, 16 August.

Where is it?

The 97th Championship is taking place at Whistling Straits, Wisconsin. It will be the third time the tournament has been held at the venue which hosted it in 2004 and 2010. It was won in those years by Vijay Singh and Martin Kaymer respectively.

What time is it on?

The first group tee-off at 12.45pm BST on Thursday, with the final groups at 8pm. Play should be over by midnight every day, including Saturday and Sunday. Full tee-times for Thursday and Friday can be found here.

Flags are seen atop a leaderboard at Whistling Straits, venue of the 2015 US PGA


Where can I watch it?

Live coverage will be shown from 4pm every day on Sky Sports.

Is Rory McIlroy in contention?

The world number one missed the most recent major, the highly engrossing Open at St Andrews, after hurting himself in the build-up in a kick-about with friends. According to the Northern Irishman, he's fully fit to go: "To play golf, it's 100 per cent. To go back on a soccer pitch, it wouldn't be quite ready," he said. The two-time winner and defending champion played practice rounds at Whistling Straits over the weekend and completed nine holes in the rain on Monday.

A fan waits for autographs during a practice round prior to the 2015 PGA Championship at Whistling Straits


Which groupings should I keep an eye on?

McIlroy has been paired in a dream grouping that features Jordan Spieth and Zach Johnson - the winners of this year's other majors. They tee-off at 7.20pm BST. Meanwhile, Rickie Fowler, Jason Day and Dustin Johnson go at 13.05pm BST and Patrick Reed, Graeme McDowell and Luke Donald at 7pm BST. Tiger Woods, now ranked at 262, will tee-off at 1.15pm BST. Full tee-times for Thursday and Friday can be found here.

Who are the favourites?

Spieth, who won the first two majors of the year and Zach Johnson, who won at St Andrews, will be fancied alongside McIlroy. Jason Day, Bubba Watson, Dustin Johnson, Justin Rose and Rickie Fowler are also considered among those in with a strong chance of winning.