Hockey: England undone by defensive frailties

Click to follow
The Independent Online
ENGLAND'S disappointing form continued in the Women's World Cup when they went down 3-2 to South Korea in the FC Utrecht stadium yesterday. Not even two goals from Purdey Miller could save England's blushes and now only a win against New Zealand tomorrow in their last game can save them from having to play off for the 9th/12th places.

England started in style with their attacking formation, taking the lead in the seventh minute, a free hit from the edge of the circle by Kirsty Bowden being deflected goalward by Miller.

The fast-moving South Koreans quickly bounced back with Myung Ok Kim running 30 yards without a tackle for a free shot in the 15th minute.

England again paid the penalty for leaving the Koreans unmarked as Eun Young Lee put them ahead in the 29th minute. England now moved Karen Brown into the midfield and had their best period of the game.

However with Brown reverting to the back row after the interval England were again under the cosh from the skilful Koreans who went further ahead seven minutes into the half, Seong Eun Kim providing the cross for Hyun Jung Woo.

Seventeen minutes into the half England won only their second penalty corner of the game. Jane Smith's first shot was saved by the goalkeeper, the ball falling to Lucilla Wright whose shot was deflected into the net by Miller. Brown moved forward again for the equaliser but the South Korean defence held fast.

England's captain, Kirsty Bowden, said after the game: "We let them play and we made it hard for ourselves."

ENGLAND: C Reid (Hightown); J Empson (Canterbury), K Brown (Slough), M Clewlow ( Canterbury), J Mould (Leicester); L Wright (Olton), K Bowden (Leicester, capt), K Moore (Olton); J Sixsmith (Sutton Coldfield), P Miller (Leicester), S Blanks (Leicester). Substitutes used: J Smith ( Slough), L Copeland (Slough), J Bimson (Loughborough Students), F Greenham (Olton).

SOUTH KOREA: Yong Sook Park; Seung Shin Oh (capt); Tae Soon Kim, Seon Hwa Lee, Hee Joo Yoo; Kwan Sook Choi, Myung Ok Kim, Bora Cho; Eun Young Lee, Mi Soon Choi, Hyun Jung Kim. Substitutes used: Seong Eun Kim, Soo Jung Kim, Eun Kyung Park.

Umpires: P Buckley (Aus), K Yasueda (Japan).