Hussain leads his men to victory

Click to follow
The Independent Online
England A 168 Pakistan Cricket Board XI 161 England A win by seven runs

Nasser Hussain led from the front as England A chalked up their second successive tour victory with a seven-run defeat of the Pakistan Cricket Board XI in Thatta yesterday.

Hussain's captain's innings of 64 was the backbone of England A's total of 168 all out off 44.3 overs, the match being reduced from 50 to 45 overs per side. The hosts were bowled out for 161 with eight balls left.

Yorkshire's Andrew McGrath and Hussain put on 71 for the second wicket, while Lancashire's Jason Gallian scored 28 off just 35 deliveries but, with prolific batsmen Ghulam Ali, Ejaz Ahmed Jnr, Mahmood Hamid and Zafar Iqbal in their line-up, the PCB side still looked favourites. However only the opener Mohammad Ramzan, who top scored with 34, seemed to have the stomach for the fight.

(Pakistan Cricket Board XI won toss)


A McGrath c Kabir Khan b Anwar Ali 34

J C Pooley c M Ramzan b Ather Laeeq 1

*N Hussain c Ejaz Ahmed Jnr b Zafar Iqbal 64

D P Ostler run out 10

R C Irani b Ather Laeeq 0

J E R Gallian c Ejaz Ahmed jnr b Zafar Iqbal 28

K J Piper c Javed Qadeer b Kabir Khan 11

D W Headley b Kabir Khan 9

R D Stemp b Kabir Khan 0

A M Smith not out 1

E S H Giddins b Kabir Khan 0

Extras (lb4, w4, nb2) 10

Total (44.3 overs) 168

Fall: 1-6, 2-77, 3-101, 4-103, 5-135, 6-148, 7-163, 8-163, 9-168.

Bowling: Kabir Khan 7.3-2-20-4; Ather Laeeq 9-2-22-2; Zafar Iqbal 9-0- 40-2; Anwar Ali 9-0-34-1; Mohammad Ramzan 4-0-18-0; Ejaz Ahmed Jnr 6-0- 30-0.


Mohammad Ramzan run out 34

Ghulam Ali c McGrath b Smith 12

Ejaz Ahmed Jnr c McGrath b Giddins 26

Mahmood Hamid c Ostler b Headley 20

Saad Wasim lbw b Irani 3

Zafar Iqbal run out 15

Sajid Asghar c Piper b Stemp 4

Ather Laeeq c Piper b Stemp 4

Javed Qadeer run out 7

*Kabir Khan c Irani b Giddins 14

Anwar Ali not out 6

Extras (lb3, w6, nb7) 16

Total (43.4 overs) 161

Fall: 1-50, 2-58, 3-95, 4-101, 5-123, 6-123, 7-132, 8-132, 9-152.

Bowling: Giddins 8-1-20-2; Headley 9-2-29-1; Gallian 4-0-23-0; Smith 6.4-0-30-1; Irani 7-1-21-1; Stemp 9-2-35-2.

Umpires: Taufiq Khan and Waqar Mughul.