McRae defies setbacks to win Dakar stage

Colin McRae scored his first–ever stage victory on the Dakar Rally yesterday to finally banish memories of his sand dune difficulties.

The Scot is out of contention for a top placing after twice being stranded in the African desert by transmission problems on his Nissan but he put that disappointment behind him.

He was fastest on stage 13, ahead of Giniel de Villiers, with Ari Vatanen third.

Stephane Peterhansel leads overall, with Hiroshi Masuoka second and Jean Louis Schlesser third. McRae is 20th but would rather concentrate on simply finishing the event.

He said: "It's my first stage with a good clean run. We had some vibration problems so we had to make sure the car was okay. Tomorrow's a marathon stage so we have to take good care of the car. There still is a hell of a long way to Dakar.

"I felt good overtaking everyone. You obviously know you're doing well. It's nice to be alongside Andrew Cowan (the last British driver to win a stage).

"I want to get to Dakar but we have to judge our own pace. The others will be calculating a lot so I think we can try to win another one."

On two wheels, David Fretigne won his first African stage after two victories in Europe, pipping Richard Sainct to the top of the standings.

Joan Roma was third, but retains the lead, with Sainct second and Cyril Despres third.

DAKAR RALLY 13th stage (733km, from Bamako, Mali, to Ayoun el Atrous, Mauritania) Special 478km stage, leading results: Cars: 1 C McRae (GB) Nissan 5hr 52min 58sec; 2 G De Villiers (SA) Nissan +7min 40sec; 3 A Vatanen (Fin) Nissan +8:47; 4 J M Servia (Sp) Schlesser-Ford +16:39, 5 J Kleinschmidt (Ger) Volkswagen +23:11; 6 G De Mevius (Bel) BMW +23:58; 7 H Masuoka (Japan) Mitsubishi +24:21; 8 S Peterhansel (Fr) Mitsubishi +26:35; 9 L Alphand (Fr) BMW 29:36; 10 L Komornicki (Pol) Mitsubishi 30:37. Leading overall standings: 1 Peterhansel 36hr 36min 26sec; 2 Masuoka +1hr 02min 29sec; 3 J-L Schlesser (Fr) Schlesser-Ford +2:29:59; 4 Alphand +3:56:59; 5 De Mevius +4:12:53; 6 A Mayer (Ger) Mitsubishi +5:04:24; 7 B Saby (Fr) Volkswagen +5:44:00; 8 T Magnaldi (Fr) Honda +7:03:23; 9 K Kolberg (Br) Mitsubishi 7:03:49 10 D Housieaux (Fr) Mitsubishi +7:38:44.

voicesSiobhan Norton on why she eventually changed her mind
Life and Style
fashion Designs are part of feminist art project by a British student
Snoop Dogg pictured at The Hollywood Reporter Nominees' Night in February, 2013
people... says Snoop Dogg
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Life and Style
food + drinkZebra meat is exotic and lean - but does it taste good?
Arts and Entertainment
Residents of Derby Road in Southampton oppose filming of Channel 4 documentary Immigration Street in their community
Arts and Entertainment
The Tour de France peloton rides over a bridge on the Grinton Moor, Yorkshire, earlier this month
Scottish singer Susan Boyle will perform at the Commonwealth Games opening ceremony in Glasgow
commonwealth games
Lane Del Rey performing on the Pyramid Stage at Glastonbury 2014
people... but none of them helped me get a record deal, insists Lana Del Rey
Arts and Entertainment
Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson stars in Hercules
filmReview: The Rock is a muscular Davy Crockett in this preposterous film, says Geoffrey Macnab
Caption competition
Caption competition
Latest stories from i100
Daily Quiz
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

Career Services

Day In a Page

Noel Fielding's 'Luxury Comedy': A land of the outright bizarre

Noel Fielding's 'Luxury Comedy'

A land of the outright bizarre
What are the worst 'Word Crimes'?

What are the worst 'Word Crimes'?

‘Weird Al’ Yankovic's latest video is an ode to good grammar. But what do The Independent’s experts think he’s missed out?
Can Secret Cinema sell 80,000 'Back to the Future' tickets?

The worst kept secret in cinema

A cult movie event aims to immerse audiences of 80,000 in ‘Back to the Future’. But has it lost its magic?
Facebook: The new hatched, matched and dispatched

The new hatched, matched and dispatched

Family events used to be marked in the personal columns. But now Facebook has usurped the ‘Births, Deaths and Marriages’ announcements
Why do we have blood types?

Are you my type?

All of us have one but probably never wondered why. Yet even now, a century after blood types were discovered, it’s a matter of debate what they’re for
Honesty box hotels: You decide how much you pay

Honesty box hotels

Five hotels in Paris now allow guests to pay only what they think their stay was worth. It seems fraught with financial risk, but the honesty policy has its benefit
Commonwealth Games 2014: Why weight of pressure rests easy on Michael Jamieson’s shoulders

Michael Jamieson: Why weight of pressure rests easy on his shoulders

The Scottish swimmer is ready for ‘the biggest race of my life’ at the Commonwealth Games
Some are reformed drug addicts. Some are single mums. All are on benefits. But now these so-called 'scroungers’ are fighting back

The 'scroungers’ fight back

The welfare claimants battling to alter stereotypes
Amazing video shows Nasa 'flame extinguishment experiment' in action

Fireballs in space

Amazing video shows Nasa's 'flame extinguishment experiment' in action
A Bible for billionaires

A Bible for billionaires

Find out why America's richest men are reading John Brookes
Paranoid parenting is on the rise - and our children are suffering because of it

Paranoid parenting is on the rise

And our children are suffering because of it
For sale: Island where the Magna Carta was sealed

Magna Carta Island goes on sale

Yours for a cool £4m
Phone hacking scandal special report: The slide into crime at the 'News of the World'

The hacker's tale: the slide into crime at the 'News of the World'

Glenn Mulcaire was jailed for six months for intercepting phone messages. James Hanning tells his story in a new book. This is an extract
We flinch, but there are degrees of paedophilia

We flinch, but there are degrees of paedophilia

Child abusers are not all the same, yet the idea of treating them differently in relation to the severity of their crimes has somehow become controversial
The truth about conspiracy theories is that some require considering

The truth about conspiracy theories is that some require considering

For instance, did Isis kill the Israeli teenagers to trigger a war, asks Patrick Cockburn