Rugby Union: Farr-Jones carries on

Click to follow
New Zealand. .25

Australia . .10

Bledisloe Cup

AUSTRALIA'S veteran scrum-half Nick Farr-Jones, who came out of retirement to play in Saturday's defeat to New Zealand in the Bledisloe Cup, agreed yesterday to extend his return to Test rugby. He has made himself available for the three-Test home series against South Africa which begins on 31 July.

Farr-Jones said he made up his mind after consulting with his family and Bob Dwyer, the Australian coach who has lost a number of key players this season through injury, including Michael Lynagh, the world record points-scorer.

'The coaching staff and a few of the players convinced me it was the right thing to do,' Farr-Jones said. 'Bob feels I can contribute to the side so I've made myself available for the South African series,'

Farr-Jones, who was playing his 60th international, agreed to return for the game against the All Blacks after a serious rib injury to his successor, Peter Slattery, in the Test against Tonga earlier this month.

New Zealand regained the Bledisloe Cup at Dunedin thanks to two tries early in the second half. With the All Blacks leading 9-3, hooker and captain Sean Fitzpatrick went over in the corner after and four minutes later Va'aiga Tuigamala was held short on a typical charge by two defenders but he popped the ball up for Frank Bunce to score a simple try that put New Zealand 19-3 ahead.

Fox added another penalty to increase the lead and despite a try by Tim Horan in the 62nd minute after he got to a towering kick over the New Zealand line before John Timu, Australia were kept at bay by some determined defence.

New Zealand: Tries Fitzpatrick, Bunce; Penalties Fox 5. Australia: Try Horan; Conversion Kelaher; Penalty Kelaher.

NEW ZEALAND: J Timu; V Tuigamala, F Bunce, L Stensness, J Kirwan; G Fox, J Preston; O Brown, S Fitzpatrick (capt), C Dowd, R Brooke, M Cooksley, A Pene, M Jones, J Joseph.

AUSTRALIA: T Kelaher; D Campese, J Little, T Horan, P Carozza (A Herbert); P Howard, N Farr- Jones; T Daly, P Kearns (capt), E McKenzie, G Morgan, R McCall, T Gavin, D Wilson, T Coker.