Welsh regional teams will not be signing extension to participation agreement with WRU


Click to follow
The Independent Online

The four Welsh regional teams – Cardiff Blues, Newport-Gwent Dragons, Ospreys and Scarlets – have confirmed that they would not sign an extension to their participation agreement with the national governing body. They also warned that without a speedy solution to the long-running row over the Heineken Cup and on the future of the domestic Pro 12 tournament, they would "pursue further competition options".

The most attractive of these would be a link-up with the top-flight English clubs in an expanded Premiership.

Gloucester's Fijian back-row forward Akapusi Qera was granted early release from his contract to make an immediate switch to Toulouse, who will pay the Kingsholm club a transfer fee.