Haskell misses out as Robshaw is handed England debut

Click to follow
The Independent Online

England will give back row Chris Robshaw his Test debut as one of two changes for Saturday's second Test against Argentina in Salta.

Robshaw replaces James Haskell, who drops to the bench, in the No 6 jersey, while Leicester veteran Julian White comes in for David Wilson. Harlequins blindside Robshaw made his first senior appearance for England in the 33-26 defeat by the Barbarians last month but was dropped for the opening Test against Argentina.

White played just seven minutes of Saturday's 37-15 victory over the Pumas at Old Trafford – his 50th cap – after being sent to the sin-bin for foul play shortly after coming on as a second-half replacement.

Wilson, the Newcastle prop, must settle for a place among the substitutes, where hooker George Chuter replaces Steve Thompson, with Jordan Crane dropping out of the 22.

The England manager, Martin Johnson, has opted against promoting Leicester lock Ben Kay to the starting line-up. Captain Steve Borthwick wins his 50th cap as England attempt to end their season with a fourth successive Test victory. They replaced Argentina in fifth place in the IRB world rankings with last weekend's victory.

The Argentina coach, Santiago Phelan, has made several changes to his starting XV. Francisco Leonelli and Santiago Fernandez come in at wing and centre respectively. Changes have also been made to the front row, where Mario Ledesma and Marcos Ayerza come in for Juan Pablo Orlandi and Alberto Vernet Basualdo.

Rimas Alvarez takes over from Manuel Carizza in the second row, while Alfredo Lalanne will start as scrum-half.

Argentina v England: Salta, 13 June


D Armitage (London Irish); M Cueto (Sale Sharks), D Hipkiss (Leicester), T May (Newcastle), M Banahan (Bath); A Goode (Brive), D Care (Harlequins); T Payne (Wasps), D Hartley (Northampton), J White (Leicester), S Borthwick (Saracens, capt), L Deacon (Leicester), C Robshaw (Harlequins), S Armitage (London Irish), N Easter (Harlequins).

Replacements: G Chuter (Leicester), D Wilson (Newcastle), B Kay (Leicester), J Haskell (Wasps), P Hodgson (London Irish), S Vesty (Leicester), M Tait (Sale Sharks).


H Agulla; F Leonelli, G Tiesi, S Fernandez, G Camacho; JM Hernandez, A Lalanne; R Roncero , M Ledesma, M Ayerza, R Alvarez, P Albacete, G Fessia, JM Leguizamon, JM Fernandez Lobbe (capt).

Replacements: A Vernet Basualdo, JP Orlandi, M Carizza, E Lozada, N Vergallo, M Avramovic, L Gonzalez Amorosino.