Video referee was wrong: it was a try, says Strettle

England wing believed he touched down in last-ditch attempt to salvage draw

Click to follow
The Independent Online

The England wing Dave Strettle bemoaned the try that got away as Wales stayed on course for a third Grand Slam in eight years with a 19-12 win in the Six Nations' Championship at Twickenham.

A solitary try, by the Scarlets centre Scott Williams five minutes from time, had the Welsh seven points up when Strettle lunged for the line in the final play, only for the Scottish television official, Iain Ramage, to rule that the Saracens wing had not grounded the ball.

"I personally thought I'd scored," said Strettle. "I thought when the Welsh players flipped me on my back I had downward pressure. I felt the ball touch the floor and then everyone jumped on top of me."

England also fumed that the referee, Steve Walsh, did not take play back for a penalty, having played advantage.But instead of grabbing a possible draw the mini-revival under the interim head coach, Stuart Lancaster, was halted and Wales completed their 20th Triple Crown. The Welsh now need to defeat Italy and France to take the Grand Slam.

The Wales captain, Sam Warburton, said: "The players don't dare say those two words [Grand Slam]. I won't jinx myself by saying them."

Lancaster's chances of the permanent England job have receded. "The players are hurting which shows how much they care," he said. "I think we did improve from the wins in Scotland and Italy. But games like this are always decided by fine margins."