Jenkins signs off in style for Warriors as Blues falter

Celtic Warriors 30 Cardiff Blues 26

Departing Warriors Neil Jenkins and Gareth Thomas ensured their side's Heineken Cup survival with a victory over an unlucky Blues outfit at the Brewery Field last night.

Former Cardiff player Jenkins kicked 15 points in his last competitive match in Wales, while Toulouse-bound Thomas scored a controversial second-half try. The lowest-placed Welsh side in the Celtic League lose their Heineken Cup place next season, and the Blues must now hope the Neath-Swansea Ospreys lose their final two games.

The Blues made a perfect start when winger Tom Shanklin dotted down in the second minute. Iestyn Harris added a penalty, but the visitors lost skipper Martyn Williams to the sin-bin for a professional foul after 10 minutes. The home side took advantage and shoved prop Chris Horsman over the line. Jenkins converted.

Warriors full-back Emyr Lewis replaced Williams in the bin and the Blues back line cut loose, winger Craig Morgan scoring a try. Harris and Jenkins traded penalty goals, and the Blues had a 16-10 lead at half time.

Two Jenkins penalties levelled the scores before Warriors centre Sonny Parker scored a try.. Blues full-back Rhys Williams darted over from a quick tap, but Warriors skipper Thomas secured the victory with a blatant double movement. Given that even after the illegal move the ball wasn't on the line, it was a shocking call. The Blues had to be content with a bonus point for finishing within seven points.

Celtic Warriors: Tries C Horsman, S Parker, G Thomas; Penalties N Jenkins 3; Conversions N Jenkins 3. Cardiff Blues: Tries T Shanklin, C Morgan, R Williams; Penalties I Harris 3; Conversion I Harris.

Celtic Warriors: E Lewis; D James, S Parker, G Thomas, G Wyatt; N Jenkins, S Martens; G Jenkins, M Davies, C Horsman, B Cockbain (D Jones 54), R Sidoli, M Molitika (R Parks 81), C Harris, R Bryan.

Cardiff Blues: R Williams; T Shanklin (M Allen 40), J Robinson, I Harris, C Morgan; N Robinson, D Dewdney; J Yapp, R Thomas, B Evans (D Crompton 78), H Senekal (C Quinnell 68), J Brownrigg, D Baugh, N Thomas, M Williams.

Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland)

Snoop Dogg pictured at The Hollywood Reporter Nominees' Night in February, 2013
people... says Snoop Dogg
Life and Style
fashion Designs are part of feminist art project by a British student
Life and Style
food + drinkZebra meat is exotic and lean - but does it taste good?
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Arts and Entertainment
Residents of Derby Road in Southampton oppose filming of Channel 4 documentary Immigration Street in their community
Scottish singer Susan Boyle will perform at the Commonwealth Games opening ceremony in Glasgow
commonwealth games
Lane Del Rey performing on the Pyramid Stage at Glastonbury 2014
people... but none of them helped me get a record deal, insists Lana Del Rey
Arts and Entertainment
Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson stars in Hercules
filmReview: The Rock is a muscular Davy Crockett in this preposterous film, says Geoffrey Macnab
Caption competition
Caption competition
Daily Quiz
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

Career Services

Day In a Page

Noel Fielding's 'Luxury Comedy': A land of the outright bizarre

Noel Fielding's 'Luxury Comedy'

A land of the outright bizarre
What are the worst 'Word Crimes'?

What are the worst 'Word Crimes'?

‘Weird Al’ Yankovic's latest video is an ode to good grammar. But what do The Independent’s experts think he’s missed out?
Can Secret Cinema sell 80,000 'Back to the Future' tickets?

The worst kept secret in cinema

A cult movie event aims to immerse audiences of 80,000 in ‘Back to the Future’. But has it lost its magic?
Facebook: The new hatched, matched and dispatched

The new hatched, matched and dispatched

Family events used to be marked in the personal columns. But now Facebook has usurped the ‘Births, Deaths and Marriages’ announcements
Why do we have blood types?

Are you my type?

All of us have one but probably never wondered why. Yet even now, a century after blood types were discovered, it’s a matter of debate what they’re for
Honesty box hotels: You decide how much you pay

Honesty box hotels

Five hotels in Paris now allow guests to pay only what they think their stay was worth. It seems fraught with financial risk, but the honesty policy has its benefit
Commonwealth Games 2014: Why weight of pressure rests easy on Michael Jamieson’s shoulders

Michael Jamieson: Why weight of pressure rests easy on his shoulders

The Scottish swimmer is ready for ‘the biggest race of my life’ at the Commonwealth Games
Some are reformed drug addicts. Some are single mums. All are on benefits. But now these so-called 'scroungers’ are fighting back

The 'scroungers’ fight back

The welfare claimants battling to alter stereotypes
Amazing video shows Nasa 'flame extinguishment experiment' in action

Fireballs in space

Amazing video shows Nasa's 'flame extinguishment experiment' in action
A Bible for billionaires

A Bible for billionaires

Find out why America's richest men are reading John Brookes
Paranoid parenting is on the rise - and our children are suffering because of it

Paranoid parenting is on the rise

And our children are suffering because of it
For sale: Island where the Magna Carta was sealed

Magna Carta Island goes on sale

Yours for a cool £4m
Phone hacking scandal special report: The slide into crime at the 'News of the World'

The hacker's tale: the slide into crime at the 'News of the World'

Glenn Mulcaire was jailed for six months for intercepting phone messages. James Hanning tells his story in a new book. This is an extract
We flinch, but there are degrees of paedophilia

We flinch, but there are degrees of paedophilia

Child abusers are not all the same, yet the idea of treating them differently in relation to the severity of their crimes has somehow become controversial
The truth about conspiracy theories is that some require considering

The truth about conspiracy theories is that some require considering

For instance, did Isis kill the Israeli teenagers to trigger a war, asks Patrick Cockburn