Sale tempt Peel away from Scarlets

Click to follow

The Llanelli Scarlets scrum-half, Dwayne Peel, is to join Sale Sharks at the end of the season. The 26-year-old Wales international came through the ranks at Llanelli and has been with the Scarlets regional side since it was created in 2003. "My move's not about money," he said. "I'd like to experience life in another country."

The Scarlets have admitted the departure of Peel will leave a huge void. Their chief executive, Stuart Gallacher, said: "Dwayne has served us admirably through one of the club's most thrilling decades. He has been a cornerstone in helping us to develop a formidable European record and in keeping us highly competitive in domestic tournaments."

Elsewhere, Eddie O'Sullivan has chosen to inject some youth into Ireland's squad with Cian Healy and Jonathan Sexton among the fresh faces. Prop Healy and fly-half Sexton have been included in a 33-man party for the Six Nations that does not include the injured lock Paul O'Connell.

The uncapped Leinster duo have been rewarded for their fine form this season, but both are inexperienced – even at provincial level. Healy, 20, has made eight senior appearances for Leinster, while Sexton, 22, has also impressed and will compete with Paddy Wallace to become Ronan O'Gara's understudy. "I think we have the balance right going into the championship," O'Sullivan said."

Gloucester have confirmed that Alex Brown fractured the radius in his left arm during their 32-15 Heineken Cup defeat to the Ospreys on Saturday. Brown has already undergone surgery to have a plate inserted into the arm – the same procedure he faced last season when he suffered an identical injury against Harlequins. Gloucester expect the lock to be fit within six to eight weeks.

Ireland squad (for the Six Nations Championship): Forwards: N Best, R Best (both Ulster), T Buckley (Munster), L Cullen (Leinster), S Easterby (Llanelli), J Flannery, J Hayes (both Munster), C Healy, J Heaslip (both Leinster), M Horan (Munster), B Jackman (Leinster), D Leamy, D O'Callaghan (both Munster), J O'Connor (Connacht), M O'Driscoll (Munster), M O'Kelly (Leinster), A Quinlan, D Wallace (both Munster). Backs: T Bowe (Ulster), G Dempsey, G D'Arcy (both Leinster), G Duffy (Connacht), L Fitzgerald, S Horgan, R Kearney (all Leinster), G Murphy (Leicester), B O'Driscoll (Leinster, captain), R O'Gara (Munster), E Reddan (Wasps), J Sexton (Leinster), P Stringer (Munster), A Trimble, P Wallace (both Ulster).