Sport in Short: Cycling

Click to follow
BRITISH NATIONAL TRACK CHAMPIONSHIPS (Leicester): 4,000m pursuit (qualifying): 1 G Obree (Leo RC) 4min 36.545sec (championship record). Quarter-finals: Obree 4:40.345 ct A Allen (Team Haverhill); B Steel 4:42.730 ct C Newton (Middridge CRT); C Ball (Antelope RT) 4:50.643 bt R Hayles 4:50.846; S Dangerfield (Leo RC) 4:48.818 bt M Illingworth (N Wirral Velo) 4:48.876. Keirin: 1 S Brydon (City of Edinburgh RC) last 200m 11.43sec; 2 P McHugh (PCA); 3 R Jefferies (Team Welwyn). Women's 30km pts race: 1 S Hodge (VC Ajax) 62pts; 2 M Johnson (Oundle Velo) 55; 3 S Timmis (Raleigh) 33. Time: 45:17.63.