Sport in Short: Cycling

Click to follow
BCF NATIONAL TRACK CHAMPIONSHIPS (Leicester): Amateur 4,000m individual pursuit: Final: C Boardman (GS Strada) 4min 36.92sec bt B Steel (Team Haverhill) 4:46.94. Bronze medal: S Shand (Wembley RC) 4:52.35. Amateur 1,000m sprint: S Brydon (City of Edinburgh RC) bt S Paulding (City of Edinburgh) 2-0. Bronze medal: G Hibbert (Team Sportif Tameside) bt M Phillips (Dinnington RC) 2-0. Women's 3,000m individual pursuit: Final: S Dawes (Leicestershire RC) 4:00.58 bt L Jones (GS Strada) 4:07.74. Bronze medal: R Jones (Abergavenny RC) 4:08.517. Junior 30km points race: 1 R Bruce (Wembley RC) 53pts; 2 A Mummery (VC St Raphael) 26; 3 S Kennedy (Newark Castle) 25. Time: 40:47.16. Professional keirin: 1 P McHugh (PCA) last 200m in 11.71sec; 2 G Coltman (Raleigh); 3 R Williams (Butler-Wolber). Open 50km motor-paced: 1 B Taylor (VC Londres) (paced P Wingrave) 44:38.57; 2 A Krakiewicz (Ashfield RC) (paced C Denman); 3 P Gerrard (Rhyl RC) (paced N Worby) both at four laps.

WINCANTON CLASSIC (Leeds, 147.1 miles): 1 M Ghirotto (Carrera, It) 6hr 21min 23sec; 2 L Jalabert (ONCE, Fr) +1min 10sec; 3 B Cenghialta (Ariostea, It) +2:14; 4 C Chiapucci (Carrera, It) +2:36; 5 F Jeker (Helvetia, Swit) same time; 6 R Alcala (PDM, Mex) +3:04. GB and Irl: 27 D Rayner (Buckler) +13:19; 28 M Earley (PDM); 30 S Yates (Motorola); 36 S Kelly (Festina); 51 R Millar (TVM) all s/t. World Cup placings: 1 O Ludwig (Panasonic, Ger) 101pts; 2 J Museeuw (Lotto, Bel) 74; 3 Alcala 72; 4 G Duclos- Lassalle (Z, Fr) 64; 5 D De Wold (Gatorade, Bel) 58; 6 Chiapucci 55; 9= S Kelly (Festina, Irl) 50. Event team positions: 1 Ariostea 12pts; 2 Helvetia 9; 3 PDM 8. Overall team rankings: 1 Buckler 52pts; 2 Tulip 41; 3 Panasonic 38.