Sporting Digest: Cricket

Click to follow
The Independent Online
GEOFF BOYCOTT will not be standing in the latest round of Yorkshire committee elections. The 53-year- old former England opener, who lost his place earlier this year, will not oppose another former player, Bob Platt, in the West District.

THE New Zealand selectors yesterday named their expected squad of 13 for the second bracket of World Series Cup limited-overs matches against South Africa and Australia. Andrew Jones returns to the side after missing the first games for family reasons, while Blair Pocock has been dropped. With Dipak Patel unavailable through injury, the selectors named Shane Thomson as the only spinner. Ken Rutherford continues as captain in the absence of the injured Martin Crowe.

NEW ZEALAND SQUAD (for World Series Cup v Australia and South Africa): K R Rutherford (capt), M J Greatbatch, B A Young, R T Latham, A H Jones, C Z Harris, C L Cairns, G R Larsen, R de Groen, S Thomson, D K Morrison, T E Blain (wkt), C Pringle.

SRI LANKA SQUAD (for tour of India, 13 Jan to 20 Feb): A Ranatunga (capt), P A de Silva, R S Mahanama, D Samaraweera, H P Tillekeratne, S T Jayasuriya, R S Kalpage, P B Dasanayake, M Muralidaran, G P Wickramasinghe, D K Liyanage, S D Anurasiri, A Gunawardena, R Pushpakumara, N Fernando (wkt), M Atapattu.

SHEFFIELD SHIELD (Brisbane; First day of four): Queensland 245 (S Law 43, M Kasprowicz 35); Tasmania 4 for 2. (Adelaide): New South Wales 351 for 6 (M Bevan 103, S Waugh 73) v South Australia.

UNDER-19 MATCH (Panadura, S Lanka; second day of three): England Under-19 210 (M Vaughan 74, M Trescothick 64) and 23 for 0; Kalutara CA 213.