Sporting Digest: Rugby Union

Click to follow
The Independent Online
THREE South African provinces - Natal, Transvaal and Northern Transvaal - will join Western Samoa, Queensland and New South Wales, and four sides from New Zealand - Waikato, Otago, Auckland and North Harbour - in a 'Super 10' southern hemisphere series which starts next month.

SOUTH AFRICA'S Western Province started their tour of New Zealand by having two players, the centre Chester Williams and the hooker Dale Santon, sent off as they lost 54-32 to Canterbury in Christchurch yesterday.

ROSSLYN PARK SEVENS Festival Tournament Fifth Round: King Edward's Bath 17 St David's 22 (aet); Taunton 0 King's Canterbury 19; Windsor 12 Bedford Modern 10; Durham 7 Christ College, Brecon 17; Cheltenham 22 Bearwood 5; Skinners' 21 King's Worcester 19; Kelly College 12 Blundells 24; Wellington College 19 Oakham 5. Quarter-finals: St David's 12 King's Canterbury 35; Windsor 12 Christ College, Brecon 24; Cheltenham 26 Skinners' 0; Blundells 28 Oakham 10. Semi- finals: King's Canterbury 21 Christ College, Brecon 7; Cheltenham 7 Blundells 19. Final: King's Canterbury 21 Blundells 17.