Sporting Digest: Rugby Union

Click to follow
The Independent Online
ENGLAND will play two Tests during an eight-match tour of South Africa starting next May, the South African Rugby Football Union announced yesterday. The provisional tour itinerary was announced at a SARFU special general meeting.

ENGLAND TOUR ITINERARY: 18 May: Natal (Durban). 21: Eastern Province (Port Elizabeth). 24: South Africa B (Kimberley). 28: Transvaal (Johannesburg). 31: Orange Free State (Bloemfontein). June 4: First Test (Cape Town). 7: Western Transvaal (Potchefstroom). 11: South Africa, Second test (Pretoria).

CLUB MATCHES: Ayr 13 Melrose 32; Clarkston 6 Gala 33; Edinburgh Wndrs 15 Stewarts Mel FP 19 (played Wednesday); Hillhead-Jordanhill 20 Glasgow High 32; Kilmarnock 27 Stirling County 21. Cancelled: Boroughmuir v Heriots FP; Kirkcaldy v Edinburgh Acads; Musselburgh v Watsonians. Postponed (frost): Kelso v Jed- Forest; Hawick v Langholm.