Sporting Digest: Sports Awards

Click to follow
The Independent Online
SPORTS WRITERS' ASSOCIATION: Team: 1 England's women cricketers; 2 Steve Redgrave and Matthew Pinsent. Sportsman: Linford Christie. Sportswoman: Sally Gunnell. The Pat Besford trophy for sustained sporting excellence: Richard Phelps (world modern pentathlon champion). The J L Manning trophy for outstanding contribution to sport outside competition: Sir Eddie Kulukundis (sports benefactor). The Peter Wilson trophy for the best international newcomer: Graeme Obree (world cycling pursuit champion). The Carlsberg- Tetley trophy for the year's outstanding single achievement: Eamonn Martin (London Marathon winner). The Bill McGowran trophy for the outstanding achievement in disabled sport: Sarah Bailey (16-year-old swimmer from Stockport who holds 17 world records).