Andy Murray's previous Australian Open finals

The Scot will contest his fourth on Sunday

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Andy Murray will contest his fourth Australian Open final when he plays Novak Djokovic on Sunday. Here, we take a look at his three failed attempts to win the title in Melbourne...

2010: Roger Federer won  6-3, 6-4, 7-6

This high-quality encounter was much closer than the scoreline suggested. Murray had chances to win the first set, played poorly at the start of the second and should have won the third. He led 5-2 and had five set points in the tie-break, which Federer won 13-11. Choking back the tears at the presentation ceremony, Murray said: “I can cry like Roger, it’s just a shame I can’t play like him.”

2011: Novak Djokovic won 6-4, 6-2, 6-3

By some margin Murray’s worst performance in a Grand Slam final. While Djokovic played superbly, combining stonewall defence with exhilarating attack, Murray never looked at his best. He made too many mistakes, served poorly and did not come out of his shell often enough to show the aggression he needed to beat his long-time friend and rival.

2013: Djokovic won  6-7, 7-6, 6-3, 6-2

The quality of the tennis was not as high as in some of their previous meetings, but the match was tight throughout, with the first break of serve arriving after nearly three hours. Djokovic’s recovery when serving at 0-40 down in the second game of the second set was a turning point, as was a Murray double fault at 2-2 in the ensuing tie-break, the Scot’s attention having been distracted by a floating white feather.