Album: Cheryl, A Million Lights (Polydor)


Click to follow
The Independent Culture

Cheryl Cole here offers her most confident set yet, augmenting the familiar collaborators –, Calvin Harris, Taio Cruz – with fresher talent like producer Panther, who brings a range of sonic exclamation-marks to the twitchy electro of "Girl in the Mirror".

That song epitomises the overall emotional turbulence, which only really breaks new ground with the erotic charge of Lana Del Rey's "Ghetto Baby". Elsewhere, Taio Cruz employs a Coldplay-esque piano motif for "Mechanics of the Heart", Calvin Harris stomps his way through "Call My Name", and Alex Da Kid shocks with the mob-vocal refrain of "Under the Sun".

Download: Under the Sun; Girl in the Mirror; Ghetto Baby