Antonio Conte leads six-man shortlist for Premier League manager of the season as Paul Clement is recognised

Mauricio Pochettino, Sean Dyche, Tony Pulis and Eddie Howe are also included with fans set to vote for the overall winner

Click to follow
The Independent Football

The six-man shortlist for the Premier League manager of the season award has been unveiled with Chelsea manager Antonio Conte heading the way after Friday’s title-winning celebrations.

Conte is joined on the shortlist by Tottenham manager Mauricio Pochettino, whose side have secured second place in the Premier League table and said farewell to White Hart Lane on Sunday ahead of their temporary relocation to Wembley Stadium while the ground is redeveloped.

Pochettino’s side agonisingly saw their Premier League title campaign come to an end when they suffered a 1-0 defeat at West Ham that allowed Chelsea to secure the title with victory over West Bromwich Albion on Friday in Conte’s first season at Stamford Bridge.

Two other current top 10 managers are recognised for impressive campaigns, with both West Bromwich Albion boss Tony Pulis and Bournemouth’s Eddie Howe nominated after guiding their respective clubs to Premier League survival, with the Baggies in eighth and the Cherries tenth ahead of the final games of the season.

The two final inclusions come from sides that secured Premier League survival against the odds, with Burnley manager Sean Dyche nominated after keeping the Clarets in the top flight following their promotion last year, while Paul Clement makes the cut having come in midway through the season and dragging Swansea off the bottom of the table to secure their place in next season’s campaign this weekend as Hull were relegated.

Fans will vote for the winner on the Premier League website along with the EA Sports player of the season, which features an eight-man shortlist for the top award. Both Chelsea and Tottenham boast three players each, with the league champions represented by Cesar Azpilicueta, Eden Hazard and N’Golo Kante, the midfielder who has already been honoured this season after winning the PFA and Football Writers’ Association player of the year award.

Spurs meanwhile have Dele Alli, Harry Kane and Jan Vertonghen up for the award, while the only players not to hail from the top two in the league is Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez and Everton’s Jan Vertonghen.