Welcome to the new Independent website. We hope you enjoy it and we value your feedback. Please contact us here.

News & Advice

Ten Top: Active Family Breaks

1 Barbados: From 2 to 26 August, the Barbados Sports Camp (barbadossportscamp.com), run by the Barbados Tourism Authority (visitbarbados.org), offers free tuition in football, cricket and netball for nine to 17s, by sporting legends such as Gladstone Small.

2 Brecon Beacons: Black Mountain Activities (blackmountain.co.uk) hosts adventure days with climbing and raft building, from £55 per adult and £38 per child.

3 Portugal: There's a new Teenage Surfing Academy for guests at Penha Longa. Book through Powder Byrne (powder byrne.co.uk) for the school holidays from £245 per week.

4 Scotland: The Loch Morar Adventure Holiday with Wilderness Scotland (wildernessscotland .com) has private guided trips, including sea kayaking. It's £499 per adult, £325 per child.

5 Kent: Kids aged seven to 17 can learn to skateboard at Grosvenor Hall in Kent with Camp Beaumont (campbeaumont.co.uk). The kids-only week costs from £545.

6 UK: A week's Climbing Adventure with PGL (pgl.co.uk) in Shropshire or Dorset for seven- to 16-year-olds includes climbing, rope techniques and other fun. From £549.

7 France: Soldeu in the Pyrenees offers a mixture of cycling, walking and white-water rafting. The eight-day stay with the Adventure Company (adventurecompany .co.uk) for families with children from age six, costs from £829.

8 Wales: Kayaking, sailing and orienteering are on offer to families at the Activity Centre (activity wales.com) in Ceredigion. From Sundays to Fridays, price £1,099 for two adults and two under 16s.

9 St Vincent: The Pat Cash Tennis Academy at the new Buccament Bay Resort (buccamentbay.com) has free coaching. Seven nights all-inclusive is from £1,659 each.

10 Devon: Tides Reach (tidesreach .com) is the base for a seven-night holiday for two adults and two kids aged eight to 16, offering nine hours of water-based activities. Half-board costs £3,280 in total.