DGA awards winners list in full: Alfonso Cuaron becomes Oscars frontrunner following best director win

There was upset for Bradley Cooper in the first-time feature film category 

Jack Shepherd@JackJShepherd
Sunday 03 February 2019 09:45
Alfonso Cuaron with his 2019 DGA award
Alfonso Cuaron with his 2019 DGA award

Alfonso Cuaron has become the firm favourite to win Best Director at the Oscars following a victory at the Directors Guild Of America (DGA) Awards in Los Angeles.

The filmmaker behind Roma beat Bradley Cooper with A Star is Born, Peter Farrelly with Green Book, Spike Lee with BlacKkKlansman and Adam McKay with Vice.

However, McKay still took home an award on the evening, for the critically acclaimed television show Succession.

There was upset for Bradley Cooper elsewhere, as he was beaten by Bo Burnham in the first-time feature film category.

See the full list of winners below

Feature film – Alfonso Cuaron (Roma)

Dramatic series – Adam McKay (Succession)

First-time feature film – Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)

Comedy series – Bill Hader (Barry, “Chapter One: Make Your Mark”)

Movies for television and limited series – Ben Stiller (Escape At Dannemora)

Documentary – Tim Wardle (Three Identical Strangers)

Children’s programmes – Jack Jameson (Sesame Street, “When You Wish Upon A Pickle: A Sesame Street Specia”l)

Reality programmes – Russell Norman (The Final Table, “Japan”)

Variety/talk/news/sports, special – Louis J Horvitz (60th Grammy Awards)

Variety/talk/news/sports, regularly scheduled programming – Don Roy King (Saturday Night Live, “Adam Driver; Kanye West”)

Commercials – Spike Jonze (Welcome Home, Apple Homepod)

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments