Eurovision: Winners list in full from Abba to Bucks Fizz and Loreen

Take a look back at some of the triumphant (and less well deserved) winners

Daisy Wyatt
Thursday 22 May 2014 11:50

The time of the year for Eurovision trivia is upon us again.

Although we Brits like to bemoan the UK’s recent performance at the song contest, we have in fact won five times, making us joint second for the most number of wins since the contest began.

Ireland leads the winner-board with seven wins, and is the only country to have won the contest three years running in 1992, 1993 and 1994.

Norwegian entry Alexander Rybak holds the record for the highest score, winning 387 points in 2009 for “Fairytale”, while Sweden’s 2012 entry Loreen became the first winner to gain the full 12 points from a record 18 countries.

Eurovision winners in full

2014 - Austria

Conchita Wurst, "Like A Phoenix"

2013 – Denmark

Emmelie de Forest, “Only Teardrops”

2012 - Sweden

Loreen, “Euphoria”

2011 – Azerbaijan

Ell/Nikki, “Running Scared”

2010 – Germany

Lena, “Satellite”

2009 – Norway

Alexander Rybak, “Fairytale”

2008 – Russia

Dima Bilan, “Believe”

2007 – Serbia

Marija Šerifović, “Molitva”

2006- Finland

Lordi, “Hard Rock Hallelujah”

2005 – Greece

Helena Paparizou, “My Number One”

2004 – Ukraine

Ruslana, “Wild Dances”

2003 – Turkey

Sertab Erener, “Everyway That I Can”

2002 – Latvia

Marie N, “I Wanna”

2001 – Estonia

Tanel Pardar, Dave Benton and 2XL, “Everybody”

2000 – Denmark

Olsen Brothers, “Fly on the Wings of Love”

1999 – Sweden

Charlotte Nisson, “Take Me to Your Heaven”

1998 – Israel

Dana International, “Diva”

1997 – United Kingdom

Katrina and the Waves, “Love Shine a Light”

1996 – Ireland

Eimear Quinn, “The Voice”

1995 – Norway

Secret Garden, “Nocturne”

1994 – Ireland

Paul Harrington and Charlie McGettigan, “Rock n Roll Kids”

1993 – Ireland

Niamh Kavanagh, “In Your Eyes”

1992 – Ireland

Linda Martin, “Why Me”

1991 – Sweden

Carola, “Fångad av en stormvind”

1990 – Italy

Toto Cutugno, “Insieme: 1992”

1989 – Yugoslavia

Riva, “Rock Me”

1988 – Switzerland

Celine Dion, “Ne partez pas sans moi”

1987 – Ireland

Johnny Logan, “Hold Me Now”

1986 – Belgium

Sandra Kim, “J’aime la vie”

1985 – Norway

Bobbysocks! “La det swinge”

1984 – Sweden

Herreys, “Diggi-Loo Diggi-Ley”

1983 – Luxembourg

Corinne Hermès, “Si la vie est cadeau”

1982 – Germany

Nicole, “Ein bißchen Frieden”

1981 – United Kingdom

Bucks Fizz, “Making Up Your Mind”

1980 – Ireland

Johnny Logan, “What’s Another Year”

1979 – Israel

Gali Atari and Milk and Honey, “Hallelujah”

1978 – Israel

Izhar Cohen and the Alphabeta, “A-Ba-Ni-Bi”

1977 – France

Marie Myriam, “L’oiseau et l’enfant”

1976 – United Kingdom

Brotherhood of Man, “Save Your Kisses for Me”

1975 – Netherlands

Teach-In, “Ding-a-dong”

1974 – Sweden

ABBA, “Waterloo”

1973 – Luxembourg

Anne-Marie David, “Tu te reconnaîtras”

1972 – Luxembourg

Vicky Leandros, “Après toi

1971 – Monaco

Séverine, “All Kinds of Everything”

1969 – No winner

Four runner-ups: Spain, Salomé, “Vivo Cantando”

United Kingdom, Lulu, “Boom Bang-a-Bang”

Netherlands, Lenny Kuhr, “De troubadour”

France, Frida Boccara, “Un jour, un enfant”

1968 – Spain

Massiel, “La, la, la”

1967 – United Kingdom

Sandie Shaw, “Puppet on a String”

1966 – Austria

Udo Jürgens, “Merci, Chérie”

1965 – Luxembourg

France Gall, “Poupée de circe, poupée de son”

1964 – Italy

Gigliola Cinquettie, “Non ho l’età”

1963 – Denmark

Grethe and Jørgen Ingmann, “Dansevise”

1962 – France

Isabelle Aubret, “Un premier amour”

1961 – Luxembourg

Jean-Claude Pascal, “Nous les amoureux”

1960 – France

Jacqueline Boyer, “Tom Pillibi”

1959 – Netherlands

Teddy Scholten, “Een beetje”

1958 – France

André Claveau, “Dors, mon amour”

1957 – Netherlands

Corry Brokken, “Net als toen”

1956 – Switzerland

Lys Assia, “Refrain”

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in