Svalbard – Discography 2012-2014: Album Stream

Bristol-based post-hardcore / metal hybridists collate together their earliest material and stream it with The Independent

Remfry Dedman
Tuesday 25 October 2016 16:02 BST
Svalbard, from left to right, Mark Lilley
Svalbard, from left to right, Mark Lilley

Combining elements of post-hardcore, crust punk, black metal and post-rock, Svalbard have been gradually refining and honing their heady cocktail of extreme savagery mixed with touches of heart-rending beauty since their inception in 2011. Consisting of a series of 7”s, EPs and split releases, Discography 2012-2014 shows the progression the band made in the four years leading up to the release of their critically acclaimed debut album, 2015’s One Day All This Will End. The 15-track collection, remastered in full by Brad Boatright (OFF!, Sleep, Converge) to add extra weight and enhanced sonic punch, will be released on Double LP, CD and digitally through Holy Roar Records on Friday 28th October and is available to stream in full, ahead of its release below.

Discography 2012-2014 presents the band’s earliest material in reverse chronological order, consisting of a split EP with sadly-defunct London hardcore five-piece Pariso (Pariso & Svalbard), a cover of ‘This is The End’ by Victims (which appeared on the Cover Buzz split 7”), their first 7” for Tangled Talk Records, (Flightless Birds) and finally, the band’s first two self-releases (Svalbard and Gone Tomorrow). Whilst even the early material is of a consistently high quality, (an early version of The Damage Done appears on their self-titled debut 7”, which was eventually re-recorded and re-appeared on One Day All This Will End), Discography 2012-2014 provides fascinating insight into how Svalbard have drawn on several facets of extreme metal and punk to create their own individual amalgamation.

Discography 2012-2014 Tracklisting

Pariso & Svalbard Split (2014)

Ripped Apart



Floating Anchors (w/ Pariso)

Faceless (w/ Pariso)

Cover Buzz split 7” with MINE, Let It Die and Pariso (2013)

This Is The End (Victims Cover)

Flightless Birds 7” (2013)

Flightless Birds

For What It’s Worth

Gone Tomorrow 10” (2013)

Melting Hands

Never Look Back

Pick Up The Pieces

Leave It

Svalbard 7” (2012)

So Much for Meritocracy

The Damage Done

Anything Goes Nothing Stays

Discography 2012 – 2014 is released through Holy Roar Records on Friday 28th October and is available to pre-order as a Double LP Vinyl, CD and digitally now

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in