Beyonce guerrilla releases entire new album worldwide on iTunes

The singer randomly unveiled BEYONCÉ, her fifth studio LP, this morning

Jenn Selby
Friday 13 December 2013 09:14 GMT

It has been long rumoured that Beyoncé was set to return in the near future with something spectacular.

But few could have predicted that the star would guerrilla release an entire new album – with accompanying visuals – in time for Christmas.

The singer unveiled BEYONCÉ, her fifth studio LP, this morning.

Click here to read the review of Beyonce's new album

Comprising14 original tracks (including a collaboration with her daughter Blue Ivy, JAY Z and Frank Ocean) and 17 videos, it’s available worldwide on iTunes now.

On her decision to expand beyond audio to create what she calls a ‘visual album’, Beyoncé said: “I see music. It’s more than just what I hear.

“When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to a feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies. And they’re all connected to the music.”

In the official press statement, the label describes the release as “an unprecedented strategic move by the artist to deliver music and visual content directly to her fans when she wants to and how she wants to, with no filter.

“This unique approach allows music fans to be the first to listen, view, engage and form their own opinions void of any middleman. In the age of social media and an insatiable appetite for direct communication, this is the answer to the question asked over and over again, when is Beyoncé’s next album coming?”

The singer unveiled BEYONCÉ, her fifth studio LP, this morning

“I didn’t want to release my music the way I’ve done it,” she continued. “I am bored with that. I feel like I am able to speak directly to my fans. There’s so much that gets between the music, the artist and the fans. I felt like I didn’t want anybody to give the message when my record is coming out. I just want this to come out when it’s ready and from me to my fans.”

Eager Bey enthusiasts can get their hands on the album right now at

The track listing is as follows:

  1. Pretty Hurts
  2. Haunted
  3. Drunk In Love (Ft Jay Z)
  4. Blow/Cherry
  5. Angel
  6. Yoncé/Partition
  7. Jealous
  8. Rocket
  9. Mine (Featuring Drake)
  10. XO
  11. ***Flawless (Featuring/ Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie)
  12. Superpower (Featuring Frank Ocean)
  13. Heaven
  14. Blue (Featuring Blue Ivy)

Review of BEYONCÉ

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in