Gorillaz announce new album Humanz, release short film 'Saturnz Barz (Spirit House)' featuring four new songs

Featured artists include the likes of De La Soul, Pusha T, D.R.A.M., and Grace Jones

Jack Shepherd
Thursday 23 March 2017 20:30 GMT

Having debuted new tracks on BBC Radio 1, Gorillaz - the musical collaborative project from Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett - have announced their new album, Humanz.

The 14-track record - which features their collaboration with Benjamin Clementine, ‘Hallelujah Money’ - will reach record stores on the 28 April.

Featured artists include the likes of De La Soul, Pusha T, D.R.A.M., Grace Jones, Danny Brown, Popcaan and Vince Staples, while interludes throughout the album are done by Rogue One: A Star Wars Story’s Ben Mendelsohn.

There’s also a 19-track deluxe version available that includes songs with Rag’n’ Bone Man, RAY BLK, and Carly Simon.

Alongside the announcement, the virtual band released a six-minute animated film titled Saturnz Barz (Spirit House), which features four tracks from the upcoming album: 'Saturnz Barz’ in full, plus highlights of ‘Ascension’, ‘Andromeda’ and ‘We Got The Power.’

The band will also be playing the entire album in full for the first time tomorrow (Friday, 24 March) at a secret London location.

The full track listing for Humanz:

1. Ascension feat. Vince Staples

2. Strobelite feat. Peven Everett

3. Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan

4. Momentz feat. De La Soul

5. Submission feat. Danny Brown & Kelela

6. Charger feat. Grace Jones

7. Andromeda feat. D.R.A.M.

8. Busted and Blue

9. Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton

10. Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T

11. Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz

12. She’s My Collar feat. Kali Uchis

13. Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine

14. We Got The Power feat. Jehnny Beth

Bonus material on Deluxe:

15. The Apprentice feat. Rag’n’ Bone Man, Zebra Katz & RAY BLK

16. Halfway To The Halfway House feat. Peven Everett

17. Out Of Body feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz & Imani Vonshà

18. Ticker Tape feat. Carly Simon & Kali Uchis

19. Circle Of Friendz feat. Brandon Markell Holmes

The band previously announced their very own festival - Demon Dayz - that will take place in Margate’s very own Dreamland amusement park, with admission also covering “Free use of Dreamland's amusement park”. So far, only Gorillaz are on the line-up but expect additions in the near future.

The band last performed together in 2011 - not including a performance of Clint Eastwood in 2014 featuring both Albarn and Del the Funky Homosapien at Bonnaroo festival or the Gorillaz Sound System gigs.

Last year, the first footage of Damon Albarn back in the studio emerged online via Jamie Hewlett’s Instagram account, with snippets of new info hitting the Internet ever since.

Speaking about album number five previously, Albarn said the new record would be “really fast”, adding “it's got quite a lot of energy.”

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in