Jesy Nelson announces new documentary about mental health struggles

Little Mix announces first new single without Jesy Nelson

‘The news you’ve all been waiting for,’ band teased

Jacob Stolworthy@Jacob_Stol
Thursday 22 April 2021 13:34

Little Mix have announced their first new music since the departure of Jesy Nelson.

Nelson quit the band in December 2020, explaining that she came to her decision due to the toll being a member was taking on her mental health.

“There comes a time in life when we need to reinvest in taking care of ourselves rather than focusing on making other people happy, and I feel like now is the time to begin that process,” she wrote on social media.

Following the news, Little Mix fans were left wondering what Nelson’s departure meant for the future of the band, who formed onThe X Factor in 2011.

They announced plans to continue as a trio and now members Jade Thirlwall, Leigh-Anne Pinnock and Perrie Edwards are set to release their first new music without Nelson.

It will be a new version of “Confetti” taken from their 2020 album of the same name. The track is a collaboration with the rapper Saweetie, and will be released on 30 April.

Jesy Nelson quit Little Mix in December 2020

"The news you’ve all been waiting for... our brand new single Confetti featuring @Saweetie is out 30/04,” the band wrote on Twitter.

It is unknown whether Nelson’s vocals will feature on the new version.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments