Three in a row for Radiohead

Saturday 14 September 2013 05:25

Radiohead and Coldplay were today joint favourites to take this year's revered Panasonic Mercury Music Prize as the shortlist was unveiled.

Radiohead's Hail to the Thief became their third LP to make the 12-strong list over the years, while Coldplay's A Rush of Blood to the Head follows their debut as a Mercury nominee.

Both are ranked 4-1 to take the title by bookmaker William Hill when the winner is announced on September 9.

Eight of the shortlisted releases are debut albums, although Martina Topley-Bird - nominated for her first album Quixotic - has been up for the £20,000 prize in previous years. She provided vocals to Tricky's Maxinquaye album, which competed for the 1995 award.

South London duo Floetry have found only limited success in the UK, but their higher profile in the US saw them nominated at the Grammys earlier this year and they have worked with acts such as Justin Timberlake. They are nominated for their debut Floetic.

Hotly tipped garage act Dizzee Rascal finds himself on the shortlist little over a fortnight after he was hospitalised following a stabbing incident in Cyprus, where he was performing. The 18-year-old is nominated for his first album Boy in Da Corner.

Other stars to be shortlisted for their debut releases are The Thrills, Soweto Kinch, The Darkness, Athlete and Terri Walker. The full list of nominees is as follows:

Radiohead - Hail to the Thief.
Dizzee Rascal - Boy in Da Corner.
The Thrills - So Much for the City.
Soweto Kinch - Conversations with the Unseen.
Floetry - Floetic.
The Darkness - Permission To Land.
Coldplay - A Rush of Blood to the Head.
Martina Topley-Bird - Quixotic.
Eliza Carthy - Anglicana.
Athlete - Vehicles and Animals.
Terri Walker - Untitled.
Lemon Jelly - Lost Horizons.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments