Weekly US music releases: Tyler the Creator, The Cars, The Lonely Island

Monday 09 May 2011 00:00

On May 10, Tyler the Creator releases his sophomore album, The Cars regroup for their first recording since 1987, and the comics of The Lonely Island make funny music with Nicki Minaj, Rihanna and Justin Timberlake.

Tyler the Creator, Goblin
This 15-track collection is Tyler the Creator's second solo release. The frontman of the Los Angeles-based rap collective Odd Future or OFWGKTA has turned his YouTube videos and explicit lyrics into a sensation. XL Records releases a vinyl version and deluxe edition with a second disc including bonus tracks, a 12-page booklet, and fold-out poster.

The Cars, Move Like This
A new 10-track collection of 1980s-styled new wave tunes by The Cars leads with the first single, "Sad Song," from Hear Music/Concord Music Group. With the original members Ric Ocasek, Elliot Easton, Greg Hawkes and David Robinson (though missing the late Ben Orr), the band retools its signature synth rock-pop sound for this reunion album after breaking up 23 years ago.
"Sad Song" music video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxqxNzlEFM4

The Lonely Island, Turtleneck & Chain
From the comedy show Saturday Night Live, Andy Samberg is joined by comical pals Akiva Schaffer and Jorma Taccone on this 19-track collection of musical parodies, a follow-up to their debut album Incredibad, which featured Justin Timberlake on the Emmy-winning YouTube sensation "Dick In A Box' with 28 million views. Timberlake returns on "Motherlover," with guests Rihanna on "Ronnie & Clyde" and Akon with "I Just Had Sex," on the 2-disc set from Universal/Republic Records. The trio's humorous hip hop-inspired videos earned them Wired Magazine's distinction "Viral TV Vidiots."
"The Creep" video with Nicki Minaj: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLPZmPaHme0

Other notable albums include Glee's Matthew Morrison's self-titled debut album featuring Gwyneth Paltrow and Elton John, Grammy-winner Raphael Saadiq's Stone Rollin' featuring Swedish-Japanese singer Yukimi Nagano, and R&B legend Booker T. Jones's The Road From Memphis with The Roots, Matt Berninger of The National and Lou Reed.


Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in