Olivier awards 2018: Hamilton scores record-breaking number of nominations

Besting Hairspray and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Jack Shepherd@JackJShepherd
Wednesday 07 March 2018 13:15
Unmissable: Jamael Westman as Alexander Hamilton with the West End cast of Hamilton
Unmissable: Jamael Westman as Alexander Hamilton with the West End cast of Hamilton

Hamilton’s broadway run won almost every award under the sun, scooping multiple Tonys, a Grammy, and even a Pulitzer prize for creator Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Having been playing on the West End to rave reviews, it’s unsurprising the hip-hop musical — which tells the story of American founding father Alexander Hamilton — has broken an Olivier awards record after receiving an astounding 13 nominations.

The previous record holders for most nominations were Hairspray and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which received 11 each.

Both Giles Terera and Jamael Westman were nominated for best actor in a musical, while Rachel Jones wicked up a supporting actress nomination.

Three of the nominations come in the best supporting actor category: Jason Pennycooke, Cleve September, and Michael Jibson all battling it out for the same award.

“Blessings overflow,” wrote Miranda on Twitter. “Grateful to Olivier Awards and this incredible company, band and crew. Thank you UK, I miss you dearly.”

The second-most nominated production at this year’s Oliviers was the musical Follies, which landed 10, including a best actress nods for both Imelda Staunton and Janie Dee.

​Staunton — a four-time Olivier winner — also landed a best actress nomination (non-musical) for Who’s Afraid of Virginia Wolf?, where she faces stiff competition from Oscar-nominee Lesley Manville, The Ferryman’s Laura Donnelly, and Audra McDonald.

The Ferryman has picked up eight nominations, including best new play, going up against Ink, Network, and Oslo.

Another highly contended category will be best actor, for which Paddy Considine (Ferryman), Bryan Cranston (Network), Andrew Garfield (Angels in America), and Andrew Scott (Hamlet) are all facing off. The full list of nominees is available on here.

The winners will be announced on the 8 April. Catherine Tate will host the event at the Royal Albert Hall.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments