Stay up to date with notifications from The Independent

Notifications can be managed in browser preferences.

Love Island 2020: Meet the 12 contestants in new winter series

Reality show launches with a brand-new host and 12 hopeful singles

Roisin O'Connor
Sunday 12 January 2020 11:00 GMT
Love Island winter trailer

Love Island returns for yet another five weeks of drama, heartbreak and sunburn, this time in the sweltering summer heat of South Africa.

The UK winter season will introduce 12 new hopefuls looking to find love in a reality show famous for introducing new and ever-more implausible slang to the world.

Last year’s contest was won by Amber Gill and Greg O’Shea in what proved to be one of the most controversial series in the show’s history.

Click through the gallery to meet the 12 new contestants:

Following the Adam/Rosie “gaslighting” criticism in the previous series, Love Island came under further scrutiny after the death of former contestant Mike Thalassitis and the furore regarding the treatment of guests on reality TV programmes such as The Jeremy Kyle Show.

The winter series is preceded by yet more controversy, after host Caroline Flack stepped down following an assault charge regarding an alleged altercation with her boyfriend. Flack has been replaced by host Laura Whitmore.

The winter series of Love Island 2020 launches on Sunday 12 January at 9pm on ITV2.

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in