Snapchat: Do Not Disturb lets you secretly mute annoying friends and groups

Others users will be unaware that their messages have been silenced

Aatif Sulleyman
Tuesday 06 February 2018 19:09
comments
Snapchat release new version of the app for 2018

Snapchat has added a new muting feature that lets you silence your friends without them realising.

Called "Do Not Disturb", it allows users to secretly mute both one-on-one and group conversations.

The feature reportedly rolled out several weeks ago, although it was officially announced by the messaging application.

To enable it, a user need to tap and hold the person or group you want to silence, select Settings from the popup menu and hit Do Not Disturb.

While you will no longer receive notifications from that conversation, you’ll still be able to access it, check any unread messages and Snaps and send your own too.

Previously, the only way to avoid conversations was to block a fellow user or leave a group, thereby notifying the people you wanted to avoid.

Snapchat has also introduced new text effects, although they are currently only available in the new, redesigned version of the app – an update that has been heavily criticised by users.

Those with access to it can make any text you add to a Snap glow, and also play with rainbow effects and colour gradients, according to the TechCrunch website.

The update also lets you add multiple text captions to a Snap, which you can edit individually.

The new functionality is thought to be similar to Instagram’s Type Mode, which launched last week.

Type Mode allows people to simply write down what you’re feeling, like a simple status update on Facebook. While the app has always offered the ability to add text to a post, it previously required it to be set against a picture.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments