The Independent's journalism is supported by our readers. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission.

GQ Men of the Year Awards: Taron Egerton, Richard Madden and Stormzy win top prizes

Rapper Dave, singer George Ezra and artist Ai Weiwei also among recipients of accolades at awards ceremony

Sabrina Barr
Tuesday 03 September 2019 18:44 BST

On Tuesday, the annual GQ Men of the Year Awards in association with Hugo Boss took place to "honour the men and women who shape the world's cultural landscapes in sport, style, entertainment and more".

Hosted by actor and activist Michael Sheen, this year's event saw famous faces including Bodyguard star Richard Madden, rapper Dave and former professional footballer David Beckham take home awards.

On the morning of the ceremony, British GQ revealed that Beckham was to receive the Editor's Special Award, which was presented to him by Dylan Jones, editor of the publication.

Environmental activist Greta Thunberg was named the first recipient of the Game Changer Of The Year award, who dedicated the recognition to "everyone whose school is striking for the climate".

See the full list of winners and presenters at the 2019 GQ Men of the Year Awards below:

Hugo Boss Most Stylish Man, presented by Rita Ora

Winner: Richard Madden

Beats by Dr. Dre Band, presented by Charli XCX

Winner: The 1975

Inspiration, presented by Gabby Logan

Winner: The England Women’s Football Team

(Getty Images

Lifetime Achievement, presented by Debbie Harry

Winner: Iggy Pop

Designer, presented by Naomi Campbell

Winner: Kim Jones

Actor, presented by Bernie Taupin

Winner: Taron Egerton

(Getty Images

Vero Breakthrough Music Act, presented by Sam Smith

Winner: Dave

Live Act, presented by Winnie Harlow

Winner: George Ezra

Maddox Gallery Artist, presented by Russell Tovey

Winner: Ai Weiwei

(Getty Images

Writer, presented by Sir Patrick Stewart

Winner: James Ellroy

Icon, presented by Sir Tom Jones

Winner: Kylie Minogue

Sportsmen, presented by Greg James

Winner: The England One-Day Cricket Team

(Getty Images

Actress, presented by Elle Fanning

Winner: Nicole Kidman

Hugo Boss Standout Performance, presented by Phoebe Waller-Bridge

Winner: Andrew Scott

Politician of the Year, presented by Susanna Reid

Winner: Rory Stewart

Game Changer, presented by Caitlin Moran

Winner: Greta Thunberg

(Getty Images

Haig Club Solo Artist, presented by Adwoa Aboah

Winner: Stormzy

Legend, presented by Stephen Fry

Winner: Ian McKellen

Editor’s Special, presented by Dylan Jones

Winner: David Beckham

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in