The biggest automotive awards of 2011

Tuesday 14 December 2010 01:00

For consumers planning to buy cars in 2011, knowing which ones are the critics' choices could be useful. Here, a list of 2011's biggest automotive awards.

18th North American Car and Truck of the Year Awards
January 11
Detroit, MI, US

These awards are given by a panel of 50 respected North American automotive journalists from the US and Canada. Domestic automakers have won North American Car of the Year nine times, Japanese automakers have won three times, European automakers have won four times and a Korean automaker has won once. The results are unveiled at the North American International Auto Show in the US city of Detroit, MI.
2010 Winners - Ford Fusion Hybrid and Ford Transit Connect

7th World Car of the Year Awards

April 20/21
New York City, NY, US

The World Car of the Year Awards honors four categories of vehicle - World Car, World Car Design, World Performance Car and World Green Car. The awards jury is made of of automotive journalists from around the world and announces its decision on one of the New York International Auto Show press days.
2010 Winner - Volkswagen Polo

32nd Japan Car of the Year Award

Expected November
Tokyo, Japan

A panel of 60 respected automotive experts hand out Japan's annual Car of the Year award. In 2010, the finalists were on display and unlike many car awards, the ceremony was open to the public.
2010-2011 Winner - Honda CRZ Hybrid

48th European Car of the Year
Expected late November

Europe's motoring publications from 23 countries come together to present the European Car of the Year Award, often with surprising consequences. The 2011 gong went to the Nissan Leaf, despite the fact that it garnered no votes whatsoever from several countries.
2011 Winner - Nissan Leaf

6th Green Car of the Year
Expected November 16/17
Los Angeles, CA, US

Green Car Journal selects the winner of the annual Green Car of the Year Award, with the assistance of a high-profile panel that traditionally includes big names such as Carroll Shelby, Jay Leno and Jean-Michel Cousteau. The award is normally presented on the second press day of the LA Auto Show.
2010 Winner - Chevrolet Volt

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments