Strong showing by <i>Independent</i> in nominations for press awards

Thursday 06 March 2008 01:00

The Independent has received 12 nominations for the prestigious British Press Awards.

Our successful campaign against bank charges, which has so far resulted in billions of pounds being repaid to aggrieved customers, has been shortlisted in two categories – the Cudlipp Award, which is awarded to teams of journalists and recognises excellence in popular journalism, and Campaign of the Year.

Two Independent writers, Johann Hari and Matthew Norman, are nominated as Columnist of the Year, while James Lawton is among the nominees for Sports Journalist of the Year. Deborah Ross is shortlisted for Interviewer of the Year.

The newspaper's reporting is also recognised, with Kim Sengupta nominated for Foreign Reporter of the Year and Jerome Taylor for Young Journalist of the Year.

Anthony Quinn is shortlisted for Critic of the Year and Jeremy Warner for Business and Finance Journalist. The other nominees are Dave Brown (cartoonist) and David Ashdown (sports photographer).

The Independent On Sunday received two nominations: Cole Moreton in the interviewer category and 'The New Review' for Supplement of the Year.

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in