High Sheriffs

Thursday 16 March 1995 00:02

The Queen yesterday pricked the names of the following to serve as High Sheriffs in England and Wales for the year 1995:

ENGLAND (except Cornwall)

Avon: James Napier Tidmarsh. Bedfordshire: Brian Guy Woodrow. Berkshire: Sir William Richard Benyon. Buckinghamshire: Sir Henry Egerton Aubrey- Fletcher Bt. Cambridgeshire: Mrs Margaret Elspeth Thomas. Cheshire: John Michael Pickering. Cleveland: The Hon David John Dugdale. Cumbria: Hugh William Lawson.

Derbyshire: John Maddox Morgan-Owen. Devon: James Humphrey George Woollcombe. Dorset: John Derek Wrighton. Durham: Robert Sale. East Sussex: Alan Alfred Michael Mays-Smith. Essex: Christopher Ferens Pertwee. Gloucestershire: Frederick Hugh Philip Hamilton Wills.

Greater London: Graham James Hearne. Greater Manchester: Major Edmund Travis Cartside. Hampshire: Commander Miles James Rivett-Carnac. Hereford and Worcester: Hugh Bernard Derbyshire. Hertfordshire: Nicholas Guy Halsey. Humberside: Frank Alan Flear. Isle of Wight: John James Woodward Attrill. Kent: Robin John Baker White. Lancashire: Ralph William Goodall. Leicestershire: Joseph Cowen. Lincolnshire: David Kenneth Baker

Merseyside: Anthony Wilson Shone. Norfolk: John Oliver Charles Birkbeck. Northamptonshire: James Mackaness. Northumberland: Anthony Russell Wood. North Yorkshire: The Hon Simon Bartholomew Geoffrey Howard. Nottinghamshire: George Edmund Peter Thornhill. Oxford: John Stuart Bridgeman.Shropshire: Nicholas Edward Egerton Stephens. Somerset: Roy Scrymgeour Graham Hewett. South Yorkshire: Peter Wilton Lee. Staffordshire: Joanna Mary Monckton. Suffolk: Sir Richard William Hyde Parker. Surrey: Lady Hamilton of Dalzell.

Tyne and Wear: Dr Alan William Lillington. Warwickshire: Stephen Geoffrey Evans. West Midlands: Professor Sir Frederick William Crawford. West Sussex: Hugh Rowland Wyatt. West Yorkshire: Edward Neil Pullan. Wiltshire: David John Randolph.


Clwyd: William Field Glazebrook. Dyfed: Ieuan Wyn Jones. Gwent: Richard John Cleeve. Gwynedd: William Wyn Roberts. Mid Glamorgan: Byron Frederick Butler. Powys: Peter English. South Glamorgan: John Wynford Evans. West Glamorgan: John Duart Willard Maclean.

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in