Prizes Galore

Clare Garner
Sunday 23 October 2011 06:29

THE DAVID COHEN British Literature Prize is one of 225 literary prizes which will be awarded this year.Among them are:

The Booker Prize, worth pounds 20,000, won last year by Ian McEwan for Amsterdam.

The Whitbread Book of the Year, worth pounds 21,000, has been won for two years running by Ted Hughes: last year for Tales from Ovid and this year for Birthday Letters.

The Orange Prize, worth pounds 30,000, is open to women only. The most recent winner was Carol Shields with Larry's Party. t The Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction, worth pounds 30,000, is the only prize devoted to non- fiction

The International Impac Dublin Literary Award is worth pounds 85,000. The most recent winner was Herta Muller for The Land of Green Plums.

The Forward Poetry Prize, worth pounds 16,000 in total. Ted Hughes won the main prize last year with Birthday Letters.

Among the more obscure prizes are the Bird Book of the Year award, the Thumping Good Read award and the Management Consultancies Association Book Prize. And for Scottish writers there is the Stakis Prize.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments